Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
National Sports Media Association Hall of Fame adding seven for its 2020 class

National Sports Media Association Hall of Fame adding seven for its 2020 class


The National Sports Media Association Hall of Fame has announced a class of seven for 2020.

The seven who will be inducted June 26-28 in Winston-Salem are broadcasters Bill King, Jim Nantz and Dick Stockton and writers Larry Merchant, William Nack, William C. Rhoden and Rick Telander.

In addition, NSMA members voted Mike “Doc” Emrick as the 2020 national sportscaster of the year and Nicole Auerbach as the national sportswriter of the year.


Mike Lupica, left, presents News & Record columnist Ed Hardin with his National Sports Media Association award in 2017.

The association also names a broadcaster and writer of the year for each state. Ed Hardin, formerly of the News & Record in Greensboro and the Winston-Salem Journal, has been named the sportswriter of the year for North Carolina for a fifth time and for the third time in a row.

Stan Cotten, the play-by-play announcer for Wake Forest, and Gary Hahn, N.C. State's announcer, share the state's broadcast honor. Cotten won for the fifth time, and Hahn has won twice.

Among the 108 who won 2020 state sportscaster or sportswriter of the year honors, 51 are first-time winners. They include two who died during the year: Detroit sports talk show host Jamie Samuelsen and 100-year-old Sid Hartman of the Minneapolis Star Tribune.



Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Recommended for you

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News